a letter to my grandchild

August 3, 2012

I hope to write you many letters but in this first one, I will tell you of your mother, about how proud I am of her and all she has accomplished to this day. Be good to your mother always. I know in my heart she loves you as much as I already love you. Your mother has always been good to me, she makes me proud, she accomplishes her goals with dedication and makes it look easy. After I got sick, your mother was there every step of the way with me, even though she was only a teenager at the time. We faced my illness together. Your mother held my hand while I cried. She allowed me to be myself and I did not have to hide my melancholy. She cheered me and strengthened me. We talked a lot back then.

We talked always really. We talked about boys and school and expectations. We talked about respect and how that is the most important thing you should ever demand for yourself. We talked about how respect begins with self-respect. We talked about love and family and the importance of eating dinner together every night. We talked about her dreams for the future and my dreams for her, often while making bread. Your mother makes great bread.

We also grieved together and were blessed with the time we needed to have many beautiful conversations before I passed. We talked about you. I told her that on the day she has her own child, I will be there, watching over the two of you and sharing in the joy of that special day, your birthday. While we talked, we cried tears of joy and love, we cried at the relief of knowing that I will be watching over the two of you on your birthday. Despite my eyes being heavy with those tears, the ones of joy and love, I could see clearly what a wonderful woman and mother she would someday become. And I was so very proud of her, and happy for you at that moment, happy for the life you will have surrounded by her love, and my love too. It is here for you always.

What I wouldn’t give to hold her and you this day and to sit and talk for just a little while, about boys or dreams or dinner. Don’t ever miss an opportunity to to hold onto your mother’s hand. Bake bread with her. Please, talk to her. She knows many things about life and love, and loss and courage and living life thankfully and with gratitude. She knows how important it is to be close to those you love, and kind to those you don’t even know. Stay open to that love and gratitude as you grow. Stay open to your mother’s love, to warm bread and an even warmer hugs. And when you do hold your mother’s hand, know that my hand is there too, holding yours.

Three generations not separated by death, but bound forever, by love.

26 Responses to “a letter to my grandchild”

  1. Amy Rauscher Says:

    You are wise and wonderful. Thank you for sharing these gifts with us.

    • Rita Says:

      God Bless you
      I am a 2 time survivor, so I know the melancholy, tears and fears that are suffered.
      But remember all the good things, for they will outshine the bad. She is in a better place, and she will be watching, she only left your sight, not your side.

  2. Francine Says:

    Priceless ❤

  3. Tami DeLand Says:

    Beautiful.


  4. On this day at this very moment in 2009 my mom went to be with Jesus leaving her children,grandchildren and 2 great grandchildren. She did not leave a letter she would have loved this one that your mom wrote. She did however leave many memories with all of us and love that will last always. There is a song that she loved called The Words I Would Say by Sidewalk Profits. I encourage you to listen to it. I will be thinking and praying for all of you girls….My mom too had 3 girls. She passed at the age of 69 with Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis / IPF and is remembered daily by many.
    Hugs to all of you
    Cyndie

  5. anna mower Says:

    So beautiful, and words to live by.

  6. Gail Says:

    1 month knowing I have Breast Cancer. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Jane Baptie Says:

    what a wonderful letter, I dont know what else to say, its beautiful.

  8. Tracie Says:

    What an awesome lady. What a blessed daughter and grandchild to have words straight from the heart of a mother and grandmother that was so obviously in love with them.


  9. such a beautiful letter!

  10. Trisha Says:

    God bless her and her family. Its so hard, and frightening to wonder what the future holds. I myself had breast cancer and it was removed in March of this year, Its been a ruff road. I pray one day they can figure out what causes this god aweful creature. Bless you all

  11. anita lee Says:

    I never knew your Mother, nor about her story til now, May your Mom rest well with the Angels, as she continues her fight to help others with her story~! Bless you, and your family!

  12. Jenn Says:

    THANK-YOU for sharing this priceless gift with all of us.

  13. Glenda Olman Says:

    Thanks for sharing. I am going through breast cancer at this time.

  14. Shirley Outlaw Says:

    I am so sorry for the loss of your mother and I know she is looking down on you and she is with the Angels who will be looking over you always. I think that of my Mom who died 28 yrs. ago and I still miss her everyday. She died from a sudden Massive Coronary. I wasn’t prepared but are you ever prepared to lose your Mother? I don’t think so. I almost lost my life to Breast Cancer 17 yrs ago and would have left my 2 sons without their Mother. My youngest was in the 9th grade and my oldest was not married or didn’t know exactly what he wanted to do in life. I was scared to death and I wrote letters like this one. I think your mom was a great Mother and loved you more than anything! God Bless your family!

  15. angie D. Says:

    I am so sorry for your family’s loss. May you be comforted by your memories.

  16. Beth Brown Says:

    Please know the peace that is your mothers. She is at the right had of GOD watching over all of her loved ones. Thank you for sharing this with us. Sending love, {{{{{{hugs}}}}}} and prayers.

  17. sandra Says:

    im so sorry for ur lost. this is such a beautiful letter n i to no what it is like to lose a mother,bestfriend,g-mother,greatgrand mother. my mom was so special and thats how she made us feel. every holiday no matter what it was she made speical and she left us alot of beautiful memories we will never forget. she has been gone now 12 yrs 7/18/2000. we love you mom and wish you were here again making things speical like you ..love ur family ..


  18. May the Angels greet you with Pink wings at heaves gate. RIP

  19. ymoms Says:

    Reblogged this on ymoms and commented:
    Another Pink Warrior traded in her gloves for wings! Appreciate each day as if it were your last! Learn for those lots all too soon!!! This is her letter to her future grandchild!

  20. Tracy Long Says:

    That was the most beautiful letter. I am so sorry for your family’s loss. know that everyday she is watching over you and your baby. You and your family are in my family’s prayers.


  21. […] blog either, till yesterday), titled “a letter to my grandchild”. You can read it here: https://ronniegaubatz.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/a-letter-to-my-grandchild/ , and I encourage everyone to take a few minutes and read it. She doesn’t have any […]

  22. Barbara Thompson Says:

    We had the priviledge of knowing Ronnie and her family. She lived those beautiful words, didn’t just write them. Her husband and three girls are very dear. As a 28 year breast cancer survivor, I felt so sure Ronnie was safe after that first surgery. We all celebrated with her at church. When it came back to bite her, I would have given her some of the years I may have ahead of me. My children are grown and we have knopwn our three grandchildren. But we don’t get a chance to trade in our extra years. And Ronnie was such a special gal, I doubt she would have accepted my offer because she wouldn’thave wanted my family to go through this loss. Barbara Thompson

  23. jade Says:

    So beautiful and sweet words.. I prey that she is in peace now. I’m 2 times survivor and mother of two, and I know the feeling of going through…
    I just cried, looking at her picture, I can see her gentile mother’s soul. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful letter.

  24. Christine Scholz Says:

    I am so so sorry for your loss. Life is definitely not fair, it’s outright crewel sometimes. Your mother’s words are so beautiful. And I feel like it is also my grandmother talking to me. As my family lost her to breast cancer before I was born.

    Thoughts and prayers for you and your family. I pray you find peace, and hope you feel your mother’s love everyday.

    God Bless


Leave a Reply

