land of heart shaped rocks

June 7, 2012

I know a place I call the land of heart shaped rocks. And the land is good and true and loyal. The waves sing lullabies and songs that remind you of your grandmother or maybe songs for the man who drags a heavy heart because he never knew the love of his child. In the land of heart shaped rocks the sun kindles the fire inside of you when you slow to sit beneath it and words and thoughts boil to the top and spew out under that sun. And regrets they evaporate in the golden light reflecting from the water and the sand. And the people of the land of heart shaped rocks, they are good and true and loyal. And their hearts are strong like rocks. 

And there is a princess in the land of heart shaped rocks and the princess loves all of the people and the people love her equal to the love they have for their sunsets and their moon rises and the heart shaped rocks and even the special rocks they call crinoids which form in perfect circles. Inside the perfect circles of the crinoids can be a tiny star and when you look through the star you see all of the magic in the land of the heart shaped rocks. The magic that comes from living in a place like the land of heart shaped rocks and loving the princess and the land and each other. Of drinking under the moon and sharing the bounty of the land of heart shaped rocks with ones neighbors and freely pouring love on friends and strangers alike. Healing magic. 

But the princess can no longer see the magic, even when she peers through the star inside the special rocks the people call crinoids, she sees no magic. The princess has been blinded to the good of the land and security of the people and the magic of the love shared in land of the heart shaped rocks. Her heart is heavy like the man that never knew his daughter and a lifetime has gone by and the things that he should know are now stored as happy memories for those who were there. His heart is heavy like that of the princess. Except the princess knows her child and she has experienced love equal to the depth of the sea. She once rejoiced freely the draw of the land and the magic of the sun and the glow of the moon and the love of the people. Only now, with a heavy heart, she sits under the sun and it kindles no fire. And the waves, the waves sing louder some days in their effort to comfort the princess but their sweet soulful song will fall upon sad ears. The princess has lost her way, her heart is heavy and she wonders now if she is a princess at all here in the land of rocks or anywhere. She has lost her way, she knows not who she is or who she should be in the land of the heart shaped rocks. Her heart is not just heavy, it is broken. 

And the people of the land wanted desperately to help the princess find the magic again, the magic that comes from living in a place like the land of heart shaped rocks. And so they began to gather all of the heart shaped rocks and the youngest amongst them were put in charge of finding the crinoids and those went into the jar as well. And the waves swelled and placed more heart shaped rocks on the beach and the people of the land they gathered those rock gifts from the sea in the morning and at noon and into the night, under the rising moon. And they had love in their hearts as they gathered the rocks. And when the jar was full, they held it high toward the sun and asked the sun to inspire the rocks. And when the moon rose above the water the people danced and sang and spoke kind words about the princess. In the morning, they gave the jar of croinoids and heart shaped rocks to the princess.

And I love the princess too like the people from the land of heart shaped rocks. And I want to write the story so the princess is all well again, all better. But well and better take time, like the time it takes for a sea to make a heart shaped rock and give it as a gift to a wondering stranger, maybe to the man with missing memories or the princess with the broken heart. And sometimes you just trade peace for wellness, like the daughter who holds the father she never knew and in one embrace she finds peace. And peace can be enough when your heart is strong like a rock and you know the joy of the land and the sun and the moon and of loving fiercely without reservation. Peace can be enough in the land of heart shaped rocks.

And the jar of rocks, we all have one, gathered and gifted by those who love us freely and without reservation, blessed by the sun and christened by moonlight and dancing and kind words. We all own the jar of rocks. And me? Everyday I take out a single heart shaped rock and I hold it in the palm of my hand until it is warmed by the life inside of me and I press it hard against my cheek, and I rejoice in the love of the people in my life and the beauty of the land and the warmth of the sun and in kind words spoken. And I am reminded to love fiercely and without reservation, to take chances, knock on doors, to forgive, even if a heavy broken heart is the sometimes result. For the number of rocks inside the jar are finite and there will come a day when I walk along the shore in the land of heart shaped rocks and a ship will come and I will board it and the waves will carry me away. And I will stand on the stern and I will watch the land of the heart shaped rocks grow smaller until it disappears and I disappear from it too. And my heart will be full, and I will sing with contentment and peace. And peace will be enough. I will whisper goodbyes to the old man and to the princess, and to the people of the land of heart shaped rocks, and to those who spoke kinds words. And my heart will be strong like a rock.

8 Responses to “land of heart shaped rocks”

  1. gaye g.p Says:

    Beautiful, poetic writing–as usual. I knew where the story line was going. I was sad about that. However, I was comforted by the story. I trust you found comfort in the writing. Namaste.

  2. Barbara Jarvis Says:

    I found the story sad and yet I know it is also reality. I feel you are such a strong woman looking at reality. I know that your plan is with grace and dignity. I am so blessed to be with you on your journey. Hope to see you Monday.
    Lots of Hugs
    Barb Jarvis

    • ronniegaubatz Says:

      Barb,
      The post was not meant to be sad at all. It’s about love and connection others and the connection to the land and how those two things can get people through tough times. I think it is really beautiful to know that many people love me and speak kind words for me and that I can walk under the sun or dance under the moon instead of worry about my troubles. Everyone has this gift, like heart shaped rocks, but we should all realize are days are numbered, and dance and sing while we can. Each of you in group are a heart shaped rock to me.

  3. Julie Says:

    Peace !!!!!! to all in the land of the heart shaped rocks.

  4. Betsy Happel Says:

    We will be vigilant in our search for heart-shaped rocks in Guatemala. Thank you for the reminder, and for the inspiration to do so.

  5. Charli Says:

    Ronnie, your writing motivates me to live more and love more. Thank you for this gift of knowing you and having the ability to follow your spirit through your beautiful writing.
    C. P. militaryzenmom

    • british5 Says:

      Ronnie ..I echo what charli said … You have made me realize I need and want to live and love more … and what an honor it is to know you and to be a part of your journey. Love you Ronnie
      Susie

  6. Evie Appel Says:

    Beautiful and my what a message. I will take it to my heart!


Leave a Reply

